It’s definitely been watched by a very select few, but barely any Guild screenings, nobody is really talking about it and if SP really wanted it to be seen then there’d be more buzz going around. There is still a review embargo for “I Wanna Dance With Somebody,” but Variety’s Owen Gleiberman included it in his top ten of 2022 and thus was allowed to write a nice lengthy blurb on it. Gleiberman has a fairly eccentric movie taste (“13: The Musical” also made his top ten), so I wouldn’t be surprised if “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” still turns out to be a disappointment. What I do know is that the review embargo doesn’t lift until the week of release … Directed Kasi Lemmons (“Harriet”) from a screenplay by Anthony McCarten, the writer behind biopics such as Darkest Hour and Bohemian Rhapsody, the film has Ackie playing Houston, the late iconic R&B singer whose hit song inspired the title. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy