As far as I’m concerned, “Avengers: Endgame” was the proper ending to my superhero journey. This year, I slugged my way through “Black Widow,” “Shang-Chi,” “Venom: Let There Be Carnage,” “Eternals,” and “The Suicide Squad.” Suffice to say, I’m superhero’ed out. ’No Way Home’ is getting decent reviews and I would think I’ll eventually watch it somewhere, either in theaters or at home, but I’m just not that excited by the prospect of watching this genre ever again. Hell, I haven’t even seen the Disney+ stuff, such as “Hawkeye,” “Loki,” and “WandaVision.” With that being said, I think most of us would be in agreement that the genre peaked in 2008 with “The Dark Knight,” right? I’d shave off a good 10 minutes from its runtime, but what Christopher Nolan did with that movie, and really the entire trilogy, is as artful as it gets. Maybe an R-rating would have further pushed the boundaries with those movies, but they were more than worthy. What else deserves to be in the modern-day superhero movie time capsule? I came up with only ten movies, released in the last 20 years, that actually raised the genre to some kind of art. The Dark KnightSpider-Man 2JokerCaptain America: The Winter SoldierX2Avengers: EndgameLoganIron ManThor: RagnarokThe Incredibles I wrote thoroughly about this on 02.28.21 in my piece titled, The 10 Greatest Superhero Movies of All-Time. I’m honestly quite tempted to just call it a day with these films. They are not evolving into anything other than manufactured product. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy