And so, did we really need a 3-hour director’s cut, which Flanagan is now hinting at a possible Blu-Ray release of? Of course not. The film’s 152-minute runtime was already more than a half an hour too long. The whole film felt laborious, directionless and had none of the intrigue that Kubrick had brought to his 1980 horror classic. As I wrote in my review on 11.07.19: Does this sound like the type of movie that needed a lengthier cut? And yet, in a new statement (via Collider), Flanagan is praising Warner Bros. for allowing him to make this new 3-hour cut of the film: The“Doctor Sleep” Director’s Cut will accompany the regular release of the film on digital in January and will later be available on 4K & Blu-ray in February. He added, “We shot a LOT of material for this movie, and I always knew it wouldn’t all fit. I was reticent to call this a ‘Director’s Cut’ at first, as I absolutely love and stand by the cut I made for our theatrical release. But there was stuff I actively decided to remove from that cut that I missed, and that I would think about even weeks after the fact.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy